Skip to content
September 3, 2009 / jasonpinto

Fly me to the moon

If you  live in the northeastern part of the U.S. and are a big fan of Edgar Allen Poe, you may have heard of the deal that Jet Blue had yesterday.

They were offering $19 dollar tickets to fly from Boston to Baltimore.

I disregard a lot of travel deals in my inbox, but this one actually got my attention. Heck, the taxes were almost going to be more than the actual ticket!  It sounded like something worth pursuing.

I came very close to buying two tickets last night… but simply due to bad timing, I wasn’t going to be able to take vacation during the weeks it was available.

But I learned a very important marketing lesson!

Their $19 offer was compelling… In fact, it was so great that it made me forget about everything else associated to the trip. I didn’t think about hotel costs, food, drinks, entertainment, etc… When I read their email, I literally pictured myself taking $40 dollars out of my wallet, getting on the plane, and having some fun.

For a lot of marketing campaigns, that needs to be the goal. The product or service that we may offer may require the customer to do some work. They may need to shift things in their budget. They may need to hire a resource.   Those things are important.  And if they are true, they should be discussed during the selling process.

But before you can get someone to that point, you may need to excite them.  Your creative and messaging  should be geared to help someone visualize the benefits that you hold out to them.

If you can do that, then the thought of them opening their wallets to you may become a reality.

Photo Credit: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Australian_State_Route_19.svg

Leave a Reply

