Skip to content
January 3, 2011 / jasonpinto

Transforming with Instagram

Me, Instagram'd

I will admit to feeling a bit of jealously when I see someone who truly has photography talent. They are the people that can capture anything and convert it into an amazing moment (Lindsy Nelson, my cousin, of BeatFeet  Photography, I’m looking at you). Thus, this jealousy sometimes sends me on sprees when I put the camera on my iPhone to prolific use.

Don’t worry, though. I do not have any illusions that photography is my true calling. I’m not going to ask you to look at a thousand pictures of the view from my backyard.

Rather, I just wanted to share one of my favorite iPhone Apps related to photography. The app is Instagram.

You may have already heard of it. They registered more than 1 million users within the first two months of the app’s existence. If you have an iPhone, I would absolutely like to dare you to download it and try not to become addicted.

Instagram provides a number filters that allow you to transform the look and feel of your images, and then easily share them on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, etc. (I’ve primarily only used it to post pictures to my Flickr account so far. —- warning: cat pictures ahead if you click that link)

But the bottom line is that it encourages people to share. While you may not love all of their filter options, I guarantee that you’ll find a couple of them to your liking. Their filters truly can transform your pictures into something way cooler than what you originally captured.

The only danger? You may start thinking that you’re a professional 🙂

(Don’t worry cuz, I’ll leave that to you.)

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. somethingnewplease / Jan 3 2011 1:25 pm

    I’m jealous of those folks too. Interesting application that I’ll have to look into.

    Thanks for sharing your advice with Word Press Land,

    D

  2. jasonpinto / Jan 3 2011 1:37 pm

    D,
    Thanks very much for checking out the post, and for leaving a comment.
    I just checked out your blog — the post “Maybe friends living inside your closet should pay rent” is amazing.

    Thanks again,
    Jason

Trackbacks

  1. Postagram: Creating Print Business Thanks to Smartphones « Pinto's Beans of Wisdom
  2. New Features from Instagram | Grow Socially
  3. New Features from Instagram « Pinto's Beans of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

