Skip to content
January 19, 2011 / jasonpinto

I Recently Read UnMarketing

UnMarketing - book cover

Thanks (once again) to my friend Ryan McAbee, I recently received and read a copy of Scott Stratten’s book UnMarketing.

The book is absolutely awesome. It provided 976 takeaway points [don’t believe me? Check the “Notes” app on my iPhone :-)] that I immediately want to implement, and it was funny as heck too. If you are looking to improve the effectiveness of your online marketing efforts, you will not regret reading UnMarketing.

Sure, there are a ton of books that offer valuable advice on how your business can grow with a better marketing strategy and through channels such as social media.

However, here’s one thing that I loved about this book: Scott openly shares stories where he did things that did not go good for him. He talks about opportunities that he missed, or campaigns he ran that were poorly executed.

I think that type of candor is absolutely refreshing. But it goes beyond simply appreciating his honestly; I think that his stories of “when-things-didn’t-go-perfectly” further help to strengthen the value of the advice that he provides in this book. He learned many lessons the hard way, and in UnMarketing he shares how others can do things properly based on what he has learned.

Click here to buy it on Amazon >>

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ryan McAbee / Jan 19 2011 4:13 pm

    Jason,
    Really? 976 points? Those could be 976 blog posts ; )

    Now if you can just liberate your commenting system, it’ll be all good.

    – Ryan

  2. jasonpinto / Jan 19 2011 4:42 pm

    Seriously!
    Alright, I promise.. .I’m going to work more on putting a new comment system in place.

Leave a Reply

