Skip to content
March 11, 2011 / jasonpinto

Influence Me, Please

I do not have cable TV at home. You’d think that would keep the time I spend in front of the television to an absolute minimum, right?

Well, not exactly. See, I have a major thang for The Wire. As the proud-owner of the DVD box-set of all 5 seasons, I do watch at least a couple of episodes each week. Lately, I’ve increased this to at least one episode a night. I am beyond hooked on the characters and the stories.

While I’ve greatly enjoyed this time, I’ve noticed one major thing: I have been dramatically influenced by the show. I’m seeing this in my speech, mannerisms, actions… heck, even in the way I drive!

Influence in the World of Business

Thanks to social media, we have the ability to connect with more people than ever before. Yes, we want them to love us (and hopefully our products & services). But more importantly, we have the opportunity to learn from them. Yes, we can be dramatically influenced by their thoughts, ideas, and mannerisms.

They may push us to read the right books and articles… to watch the right videos… to listen to the right podcasts… to care about things that are bigger than us.

Yes, if we follow the right people, we may find that our life and situation improves — both professionally and personally.

A Few of My Favorites

Here are a few people who I greatly enjoy learning from via social media. I hope that their way of thinking and acting hits me hard!:

 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Aaron / Mar 11 2011 12:42 pm

    I would agree! That’s why Social Media is so great! It let’s us explore new ideas and thoughts that we might never try!

  2. jasonpinto / Mar 11 2011 12:46 pm

    Aaron, thank you big time for reading the post and leaving a comment.
    I should have listed you and your team too!

    I’m quite happy that I was able to meet you guys in real-life at a conference, and now learn a whole lot more through social media.

  3. Kelly Kirk / Mar 11 2011 1:18 pm

    This is a great point you’ve brought up Jason. It’s important to really recognize the power of social media and the bigger impact it can have on the world. With the whole world becoming increasingly connected through mobile phones, access to information has become so much easier. By allowing the right “social influence” into your online world, you can learn a lot of new things very fast that you might have otherwise missed withouth having that connection. It certainly opens up new educational opportunities for everyone and levels out the playing field some. I’ve never really thought about it in this light before. Great post!

    I’d like to share a few of my influences:

    @avinash
    @bethharte
    @mashable
    @randfish
    @chrisbrogan

    • jasonpinto / Mar 11 2011 1:54 pm

      Kelly, thank you very much for the kind words, and for leaving your list… I loved that! (I should have asked people to do that at the end of my post :-))
      Have a great Friday.

  4. Ryan McAbee / Mar 15 2011 10:29 am

    Wow! Let’s just say that influence is a two way street.

    On another note, TV is great for entertainment but horrible at influencing. Reading carries weight in both categories and has been influential for me.

    I also like Kelly’s list of Net Celebrities but think @mitchjoel podcast is a must listen if you are in the world of marketing and communications.

    • jasonpinto / Mar 16 2011 9:23 am

      Ryan, thank you for the comment. Excellent tip on @MitchJoel. I am a huge fan of his blog posts, and I will absolutely spend more time checking out his podcasts now.

Leave a Reply

