Skip to content
March 21, 2011 / jasonpinto

New Marketing Ideas from the Old Days

Thanks to a tweet from one of my favorite people on Twitter, I recently “discovered” this song from John Gorka. I was hooked immediately. I think I used YouTube’s “Replay” button 5 or 6 times before I got back to doing work (just kidding, boss).

I was convinced that this was a new song by an artist that had not been discovered yet. Here’s why:

  • This artist was playing in a small coffee shop, thus he was not well-established or well-known (so I thought)
  • I had never heard of him (wow, does that sound cocky or what!?!)

Excitedly, I sent the link to a couple of friends (including my wife). “I found the best new song ever!” Instantly, I heard back the following responses:

“I used to hear this song every day as a kid 25 years ago. My parents played it all the time.”

“I own at least 7 of his CDs”

Yes, my “new” discovery turned out to be something that was quite old.

Marketing Materials on the Yellowing Paper

In the world of marketing, we love to impress our boss, co-workers, and clients with new ideas.

We may search for inspiration in blogs from who’s hot in the marketing world, or perhaps from their books when they become more well-established. Ongoing pursuit through those channels can be rewarding.

However, there may be another source that we want to look at: our old marketing materials.

These old materials might be the ones that you’ve filed away in a cabinet somewhere or in the pits of your desk drawer. The paper may be turning yellow or they may contain buzzwords that absolutely rocked in 1995.

Yes, they are old. But they should not be ignored.

Most likely, older marketing materials may contain inspiration. They may provide you with a creative idea for design, or for the call-to-action, or perhaps for the messaging.

Yes, the old folks may be exactly what you need to impress the world with your brand new marketing idea.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cheri Allbritton / Mar 21 2011 5:05 pm

    So excited something “that” old had you so excited! lol But I understand what you mean. About six months ago I started seeing tweets and blog topics all about 2011 being the year of the Conversation and Engaging and Customer Service. My first thought was, ‘What? This is new? I’ve been practicing service for roughly, well many years.’ Everything old can be recycled but hopefully improved along the way. Thanks for this post.

  2. jasonpinto / Mar 21 2011 5:09 pm

    Ha! I promise, I didn’t mean any offense by calling that song “old” 🙂
    I honestly can’t stop listening to it. It is sooo good!

    But thank you very much for your comment. It’s funny the way things work (and come around again and again) sometimes.

  3. Kevin Keane / Mar 22 2011 10:16 am

    very perceptive and honest post Jason, as the old wiseman said:

    everything old is new again

    or as the French proverb reminds:

    Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

    the more things change, the more they remain the same.

    and so it is with our digital age, awesome tools, but in the end it is the people and the relationships that carry the day,

    Rock On dude!

    • jasonpinto / Mar 22 2011 11:19 am

      Kevin, as usual, you said it quite eloquently!
      Thank you for that (and I promise to keep on rocking)

Leave a Reply

