Skip to content
April 27, 2011 / jasonpinto

Peeps and My Reputation

A long, long time ago (in the exact same land where I currently reside – interlinkONE‘s office), I was a gigantic fan of Peeps.

I had no shame in expressing my love for Peeps inside of the office. I would buy multiple packages of them on a weekly basis (at least!), especially when they were in “season”. I’d eat them at my desk out in the open. I’d bring in extra packages in case other employees wanted to share in the fun (and if they didn’t, I ate their share). I’d make bold claims such as: “I’m having Peeps for dinner tonight!”

As the years went by though, I weened myself off those treats. In fact, it’s probably been about 7 years since I’ve last had a Peep.

However, guess what happens in the interlinkONE office every April up to this day?

Yep… nearly every employee starts talking to me about them. They ask if I’ve brought Peeps in for lunch. They tell me how they saw Peeps at the supermarket over the weekend. They tell me stories about Peeps in the news. They dare me to eat a 6-pack in 6 minutes.

Even though it’s been a long time since I’ve eaten and raved about them, my reputation as a Peep-fanatic has not gone away. In fact, it’s only grown over the years.

Peeps and Your Social Networking Activities

When it comes to marketing, the world of social networking has added a whole new element in regards to reputations.

Next time you have a free minute, take a look at your profile across social networking sites. When people read your tweets or your Facebook posts, what do they learn about you?

Does your activity portray you as someone who is obsessed with self-promotion? Does it portray you as rude, crass, or annoying? Or does it portray us as someone who cares about others and wants to share helpful & useful content?

We must be aware that the content we share (and how we share it) absolutely contributes to the reputation that people build in their minds when they think of us. That reputation will come to their minds when they read our direct mail pieces, our emails, our press releases, and when they see us at conferences & trade shows.

Our reputation can carry across multiple channels. And it can last a long time.

Are we doing things today that we want to be remembered by tomorrow?

Photo Credit

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cheri Allbritton / Apr 27 2011 10:22 am

    So true! When I was a young manager in the same company I still work for I had the reputation as a person who would shoot from the hip. And I just thought I was being an open and honest person. Because I hated surprises I assumed everyone did. I’ve been around for 27 years…my entire career practically and still get people rallying behind me when something needs to be said or someone needs to be defended…even when it has nothing to do with me…because they assume I will champion the cause. I stepped back more than 15 years ago from that activity and yet my early reputation has remained in tact. Funny because very few of the people hired with me are still around.

    And I love peeps. Just heard from a local Tweeter about roasting them like marshmellows. Can’t wait to try them out!

  2. jasonpinto / Apr 27 2011 10:27 am

    Cheri,
    Even though I’ve never met you in person, I am absolutely not surprised that you have the ability to say the things that need to be said. That is a good thing in my book!

    And… “Peeps roasting over a fire this weekend” sounds like something that just might happen at my house Saturday night.

    Thank you for the comment…. and the temptation,
    Jason

  3. logbennett / Apr 27 2011 3:44 pm

    hmmmm interesting lead in to our reputations across multiple platforms. Personally I don’t like Peeps, but to each their own.
    However, I do understand what you are saying, even on a platform like Twitter when there is only 140 characters to speak, it still shows the type of person each of us are.

    Thanks for the post

    The Green Guerilla

  4. jasonpinto / Apr 27 2011 4:03 pm

    @logbennett, thank you for the comment.

    I will agree — my lead-in could certainly be classified as “interesting”! I almost scrapped it a couple of times out of fear that it was too far of a stretch. But either way, it felt good to write about this subject a bit.

    I’m about to head to an AMA Boston event tonight. I’m looking forward to meeting in person a lot of folks that I only know from Twitter. (Fortunately, they all have good reputations in my book :-)… Hopefully they feel the same away about me!)

    • logbennett / Apr 27 2011 4:14 pm

      Awesome! I am a member of the AMA here in Oregon, I always love meeting people I interact with on Twitter or Blogging in real life. Have a good time at the event!

      The Green Guerilla

      • jasonpinto / Apr 27 2011 4:16 pm

        Nice! Thank you… I definitely will.

Leave a Reply

