Skip to content
May 17, 2011 / jasonpinto

Multi-Channel Discovery

Band Sweating It Out - Treme

In an effort to expand my TV-series watching habits beyond The Wire (I mean, it might not exactly be too healthy for me to memorize certain episodes), I’ve recently become hooked on the show Treme.

There are a few reasons why Treme has found a spot in my heart. For one, it’s based in New Orleans. Oh, and second, the cast is packed with folks that also played roles in The Wire.

I’ve noticed that I frequently pause the episodes and reach for my smartphone. Sometimes, I do this to try to find one of the actors or actresses on Facebook to give them a “Like”. But more than that, I’m using my phone to look up information on a song that I’ve discovered during an episode.

Yes, Treme the show has become a multi-channel experience for me.

Is Your Company Creating a Multi-Channel Experience?

While I’m not yet ready to charge interlinkONE for the time I spend at home watching Treme :-), I do think that lessons from the show can have a positive impact on business.

Content rules. And many companies are doing an excellent job of creating compelling content in a number of formats. However, one thing that should be done to truly maximize the impact of an individual piece of content is to integrate it with other channels.

Here are six examples of how this could be done.

  • The printed White Paper that you are distributing should have QR Codes that allow people to easily access mobile-optimized content on the web.
  • Your eBook PDFs could have “Retweet” buttons that make it easy for people to share a link to them on Twitter.
  • You could add a “Related Resources” section to corporate blog posts that cross-promote related material (i.e. at the bottom of your blog post about mobile marketing, add a button that drives people to register for your upcoming webinar on SMS/Text-Messaging)
  • While referring to company accomplishments inside of your eNewsletter, provide links to the social networking profiles for key employees.
  • In the description of your YouTube videos, provide a URL that will link people to your corporate website or a landing page.
  • When you are entering the description of a new photo on Flickr, enter a URL that will direct people to supporting content on the web.

These are just a few of the ways that multi-channel integration could occur when it comes to content. We are all creating more of it than ever before. But we must also devote energy and resources to ensure that we are doing all we can to spread it.

Photo Credit

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cheri Allbritton / May 17 2011 11:36 am

    These are all great ideas Jason!

    • jasonpinto / May 17 2011 11:39 am

      Thank you Cheri! I appreciate it… Have an awesome Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

